Suburban is using cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites if you visit a page which contains embedded content from social media. Such third party cookies may track your use of the Suburban website. We and other websites also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. By continuing to browse our site you agree to our use of cookies.

I agree


Habitants-One Self-Coverart

One Self




1. Winter
2. One Self
3. Jupiter
4. Soul Traveller
5. The Wake
6. Magnolia
7. Meraki
8. Runners
9. Vince


SKU: N/A Category: Tag:


RELEASE: 09-28-2018

HABITANTS was brought to live by René Rutten (The Gathering) and his wife Gema Perèz. They found Anne van den Hoogen (Rosemary & Garlic) to match a dark film noir sound with airy clear vocals. Along the way Mirte Heutmekers (bass) and Jerôme Miedendorp de Bie (Drive by Wire, drums) were invited to complete the band.

HABITANTS’ sound is mesmerising the 80s, it’s build around electric guitars shaping a dreamy, but analogue feel. The sound could recall Dead can Dance or Cocteau Twins, but any comparison is hard to make. All 9 songs on ONE SELF are overwhelming landscapes in which the minor self wanders around. He is marching, walking, sailing, running, flying or falling.
ONE SELF is a dark shoegaze album, mixied by Guido Aalbers and mastered by Maor Appelbaum at Maor Appelbaum Mastering in California, USA.

…a dark but beautiful album…” – Rock Tribune (B) 8/10
One Self is er een om stil van te worden.” – Metalfan (NL) 85/100

Additional information

Weight N/A
Dimensions N/A