Suburban is using cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites if you visit a page which contains embedded content from social media. Such third party cookies may track your use of the Suburban website. We and other websites also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. By continuing to browse our site you agree to our use of cookies.

I agree






Jaren actief:
2017 - Present
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Suburban Records
Vladimir Stevic - Vocals & Guitar, Sjors van Reeuwijk - Guitar, Quirin Wijgers - Bass, Bas Allein Richir - Drums


Tusky proves that punk-rock is alive and well in 2024, with the release of their fist-in-your-face-but-you-love-it new album: ‘Tusky’. The album will be released March 8th 2024.

Despite this being the band’s third album, this is their first self-titled album, spotting a strikingly simple, brown, cover. Tusky guitarist Sjors van Reeuwijk explains, “With this third album, we really wanted to go back to the core of Tusky. We hope the artwork will inspire people to call this ‘The Brown Album’…”

On previous releases, the band has been known to be in charge of their own recordings and productions, but with the new album they took it a step further: They converted their rehearsal space into a studio. By doing this, they have built a space in which they can record their new album in peace. “Having your own space is awesome! A place where you can take all the time you need, to experiment with different amps, pedals, guitars, mics. Each day we could go on as long as we wanted, but we could also decide to take a break and go for a swim in a nearby lake,” singer Vladimir Stevic elaborates.

While ‘What’s For Dinner?’ (2022) was mainly written in isolation, ‘Tusky’ is the first album to be written collectively, with the current line-up, all four of them together in the same room. “The album is a perfect mix of our four individual styles,” bass player Quirin Wijgers points out. “It has plenty of shreds but can also give you goosebumps with a track like ‘Hommage To Decay’.

The lyrics speak of topics like consumer society, digital bubbles, loneliness, inclusivity and mental health. “In the end, you write about what is important to you,” drummer Bas Allein Richir says. “Those include beautiful things as well as difficult things, and stuff you worry about.

After critically going over the tracks during pre-productions and having found the right sound, the recordings took about three weeks. After editing, the tracks were sent to Adrian Bushby who took care of the mix. Adrian is known for his work with Foo Fighters, Spice Girls, and My Bloody Valentine. “He got in touch with us years ago, saying he’d love to work with together. This wasn’t possible at the time, but luckily we were able to work together this time around,” Sjors explains. De mastering was done by Grant Berry who previously worked with acts like Taking Back Sunday, Deaf Havana and All Time Low.

If you’ve ever seen Tusky live, you understand why they are known as one of the country’s most energetic bands, who turn every show into an awesome party. And that party is going to get even more awesome, as Michiel van Iersel (Mayleaf, No Turning Back) will join Tusky on guitar, so Vlad can focus on vocals – and circle pits!

On their self-titled album, Tusky goes back to their core. Having built their own studio, they were able to write and record their new album in peace and focus on what it’s all about: the songs.

‘Tusky’ is available as digipak with lyric poster, and on white vinyl in gatefold sleeve. The inside of the artwork contains lots of photos by Thomas Hietbrink and handwritten lyrics, designed by Justin Ghijsen (helloiamjustin).

This spring, the band will be touring the Netherlands and Belgium during their “The Shit Hits the Van Tour”. Supporting them will be label-buddies Boskat.

Tusky live shows
16-03-24 De Klinker Club, Aarschot
23-03-24 De Helling, Utrecht
31-03-24 Hedon, Zwolle
01-04-24 Kavka, Antwerpen
05-04-24 Rotown, Rotterdam
06-04-24 ECI Cultuur Frabriek, Roermond
11-04-24 Charlatan, Gent
13-04-24 Vicotrie, Alkmaar
18-04-24 Vera, Groningen
19-04-24 De Buze, Steenwijk
20-04-24 World Skate Center, Den Bosch
03-05-24 Hall of Fame, Tilburg
11-05-24 Coffey Fest, Pier 15, Breda
24-05-24 Sniester, Den Haag
30-05-24 Merleyn, Nijmegen
31-05-24 De Spot, Middelburg



  1. Tusky

  2. When The Shit Hits The Fun
  3. Crow Without Caws
  4. Circles
  5. Babybird
  6. Serenade Me (Forever)
  7. Fixer Upper
  8. Threat Level Midnight
  9. Fight Or Flight
  10. Hommage To Decay
  11. The Cake Is A Lie
  12. Beyond The Binary
  13. Lights Out
  1. What’s For Dinner?

  2. Post-Apocalyptic Raftovers
  3. We're Going Out Again
  4. Lemonparty
  5. Trial & Terror
  6. The Diamond Burden
  7. There's No Pain (In Champagne)
  8. Nightstalker
  9. Conversation Street
  10. Bliss
  11. What's For Dinner?
  1. DeWolff -EP-

  2. Fishing Night At Noon
  3. Gold And Seaweed
  4. Yellow Rat Magic Blues
  5. The Thrills That Come Along With The Landing Of A Flying Saucer


Share deze pagina